Sunday, December 11, 2016

It all started by signing up and giving them my money

So that's not exactly true.  It all started when I bought a ClassPass last month.  That's also only sort of true.  I've always been curious about barre, but I've never been interested enough to try.  Why?  First off, it's terrifying.  Second, I'm an athlete, I love running, biking, lifting heavy weights, a workout where you aren't left dripping with sweat just isn't my calling.

But for ClassPass, I may never have tried it.  I purchased a ClassPass, totally enticed by their intro offer and a desire to take a couple of classes at a posh studio near work (holla FlyWheel!) which would cost more than the intro offer at ClassPass.  Well, a cold that lasted three weeks took almost all the joy out of that intro month and I was scrambling to find classes to use up my membership and take advantage of all the cool stuff that was really available.  That meant taking two barre classes.

The first class I took was at FlyBarre - it was a lot of fun, I loved the instructor, the music was great, and I would totally go back.  The next day I was sore, but this was nothing compared to the class I took a few days later at The Bar Method.  I was in over my head from the start, but the instructor was patient and even though I didn't get the heart pounding workout of my dreams, absolutely everything was a challenge, and the next day I was super sore.

I wrote barre off as "not for me," not because it was hard, but because I really love indoor cycle and running and CrossFit.  However, an email popped up in my inbox a day later telling me I was still entitled to buy the intro offer for one month of unlimited classes.

I've been so unfocused with my workouts since I left my CrossFit box and then caught the never ending cold, and I needed something to provide some direction.  With that in mind, I signed up for 30 days of unlimited classes and told everyone who matters (those in my immediate circle who are likely to hold me to task) that I was taking 20 barre classes at The Bar Method in the next 30 days.  I'm not sure if that was a good call or not, I'm terrified, but I'm going to give it a try.

To be fair... I'm not *just* doing barre for the next 30 days - I'm still going to run once in a while and I'm also going to continue with my Sunday night rock climbing, and I might still throw a random class into the mix to keep mixing it up.  Either way, I'm curious to see what barre will do for me.  Feel free to follow along as I see if I can do this!

No comments:

Post a Comment