Saturday, December 17, 2016

Breakthrough day!

Remember how I wondered whether it was OK to go to barre for a third day in a row?  Well today was day five, and apparently it was!

Woke up to snow (which I love - it means SKIING!), got to wear my new knee high grippy socks (seriously never taking them off), and I'm growing out short hair and I was able to pull my hair into a pony tail with the assistance of a headband (MAJOR BREAKTHROUGH!).  Despite those three joyous realities, I was staring down a Saturday morning class which meant a more crowded class and more *intense* barre people who have crazy good bodies and know all the moves because they've been doing it forever and frankly are barre goddesses, which frankly had me a little nervous.

First breakthrough - I didn't introduce myself as new.  I hadn't had either instructor before, and I was running a little late so there wasn't really time to introduce myself, but I'm starting to understand the class structure and I think I have an OK grasp on what's going on.  I've also noticed that the instructors adjust EVERYONE, so now that not everything feels new, I felt like maybe I could just sneak in and see what happened.

Second breakthrough - I made it through the first plank of the class - I haven't made it through that one yet.  I used to be much better at plank, but failure to do it for a while kind of impacted that negatively.  But, I made it through!  And it wasn't even so terrible :)

Third breakthrough - I embraced the shake!  I wasn't able to get through *all* the sets of exercises without taking a moment to reset, but I made it through more than I did the day before, a few sets without taking *any* break.  AND, I even was able to take a few "challenges" (i.e. option to take the L-position) for the first time.

I left class today feeling totally different.  I got adjusted about 1,000 times, but like I've said before, I have *no* problem embracing that.  I left class feeling confident, feeling like my body was strong and like my mind was stronger.  My goal in doing this for 30 days was to make a commitment and stick to it, and to focus on something.  I'm definitely sticking to my goals.  Having said that, I couldn't be happier that tomorrow is a rest day :-p

No comments:

Post a Comment