Thursday, December 15, 2016

Third Day of Barre This Week

So....

Here's the story... I accidentally signed up for two classes tonight at FlyWheel... sort of.  I signed up for a FlyWheel indoor cycle class and I also signed up for a FlyBarre class.  My goal was to cancel one - but I didn't cancel before the "late cancel" time - and ended up doing an indoor cycle class followed immediately by their own special approach to barre.

To start - this was my first indoor cycle class since catching the worlds longest lasting cold about 5 weeks ago.  I thought I was going to die, but I still ended up doing OK, so I guess that means I need to work harder than I have been lately.

Immediately following I headed into the FlyBarre studio (OK, I used the ladies room, changed my shirt, and then filled up my water bottle first).  FlyBarre is a lot different than my Bar Method class.  It definitely has rhyme and reason, but I can't quite make heads or tails of it.  Here's what I do know (a) it was hard and I had to take way too many breaks, (b) the music is WAY better than at Bar Method, and (c) I actually had a lot of fun even though I spent every minute of the class wondering how much longer I had to go.

Here's what I learned: barre and spin totally go together - but I'd rather do it in the opposite order (barre first, then spin).  Also, barre is totally changing my posture.  It's been less than a week, but it's making a difference.

Looking forward to doing my Bar Method class tomorrow, even though it's going to be stupid cold and my leg warmers haven't arrived yet (yes, I'm turning into one of *those* people).  I'm also really curious what four weeks of this challenge is going to do because one week has made some notable difference - not specifically weight loss or lost inches, but a definite improvement in posture which is HUGE!

Also - random aside - does this class count toward my 20/30 challenge? Or do I have to do all 20 classes at Bar Method?

No comments:

Post a Comment