Monday, January 9, 2017

The Last Day...

Today was the last day in my 30-day challenge.  I did a double, spinning early this morning (OK, it was a Beyonce/Rhianna class, who wouldn't want to attend? and it was a REAL ass-kicker) and then barre at the late morning class.

I've been trying to attend the latest morning class whenever possible because there are fewer attendees and more attention from the instructor.  Today BOY did I get quite a bit of feedback.  But at the end of class the instructor told me she's loved watching my progress (she didn't realize it was the last day of a personal challenge) and that I'm making strides for sure.  She then went on to tell me she's been doing barre for four years and she's still seeing improvements... that made me feel better about where I stand now.

So, here's the decision I have to make - continue this blog, or move it along to another blog?  I'm challenging myself again for another 30 days (one of these months I'm going to hit that 20 class goal).  This 30 has a different focus though - I need to work more spin/treadmill/outdoor run sessions into each week, and I also realize I'm deep in ski season, so that's going to take a day or two a week away from my barre practice...

Decisions decisions....

Saturday, January 7, 2017

Where have I been this whole time?

I've been out sick!  I've had a cold since the middle of November.  Every time I think I have it kicked, it rears its ugly head.  I'm hopeful that I'll get this thing totally licked soon!

So, I missed a full week of The Bar Method, which left me pretty upset, but let's be honest, no one wants someone who is sneezing and coughing at the barre.  I did a little walking and I also went skiing twice (maybe not the smartest move, but the most fun), so it wasn't a total loss.

I have been back at the barre for the last few days, and I've now completed 12 classes (14 if you include the two FlyBarre classes I've taken), which means I'm only 8 classes away from being able to take BarMove, the cardio barre class!

It feels good to be back.  Going back after almost a full week off wasn't as bad as I thought it might be.  Even though I've only been going for three weeks, going so frequently makes it feel like I've been doing it forever (something to be said for ramping it up as part of the intro).

Now, here's my current struggle (or two):

Goal setting.  With the new year came this question: what are my goals?  Usually I announce something like "I'm going to run a marathon!" or something to that effect, but this year, I didn't really have any such goal.

I thought about barre.  What are my goals at the barre?  Goal setting at barre has been a challenge for me because in a way I'm still struggling with the fact that barre seems to be about looking good and feeling good, but without a tangible take away (i.e. "I'm working my way toward a 250lb deadlift.") that I would get from another workout.  I'm still so inflexible that everything is a struggle, and I'm not sure what good goal setting would include.  So for the time being, my goal with barre is going to continue to be attendance based.

Then I thought about other sports.  Did I want to run another marathon?  No.  Did I want to do another multi-day bike ride?  Yes, but I really didn't want to commit to the fundraising necessary to do the ride I had my eye on (seriously, do the Climate Ride if you're ever thinking of doing a multi-day bike ride, I've done it twice and it's so worth it).  But I do want to do a 100 mile bike ride during the summer.  Hiking?  YES!  That's right, I have a lot of passion around hiking.  So now my goal is to figure out a few longer hikes to train for.  This was a win, because I can really get into the training for this - walking, snowshoeing, running, stair mill, yes!

After this I thought about food.  Do I want to be vegetarian again?  Yeah, probably, but am I committed to going back to that life?  I'm not sure, and I don't have to decide today.

Finally I realized what was underlying this whole thing.  I don't always like to put this out there, but I have a chronic condition called endometriosis and a related condition called adenomyosis.  As a result of these two conditions I have all the joy of chronic pain and fatigue among other things.  But I fight a good fight, I don't let it get the best of me.  When I'm tired and I don't feel well (except when it's really really really bad, which does happen) I still drag myself out to work out because it is almost always worth it.  Lately, I haven't been feeling well, and I realize I'm in a mood to make some changes that will help me feel better.  So even though I have some goals which I listed above, it seems to me I'm going to have to continue to think about this.

As for tomorrow - we had a big snow storm today, an I'm not sure I'm going to be dug out in time to make it to barre tomorrow.  That's OK - Monday looks like it's going to be Spinning, Barre, and possibly a little skiing or climbing, so it's all good..........


Monday, December 26, 2016

Week two - where did the time go?

Week two flew by without any time to blog.

Facts: only made it to four classes this week (but also made it rock climbing one day and to spinning three days).  I should admit some of it was because of my schedule, but a lot of it was bc of limited hours at the gym.  Because of Christmas and New Years, this is going to happen again this week.

Realizations: I no longer have to tell the instructor I'm wicked new - I'm starting to blend in, but still getting plenty of feedback from the instructor (which I want).

I'm getting better at a lot of things we do in class - I've made it all the way through the three sets of thigh work, embracing the shake, more than ones.  I've made it all the way through a few planks, and I've started doing push-ups on the ball of my feet again - I can't get through all 20-25, but I'm working on it.

And something really interesting happened: I caught a look at myself in the mirror, and I think I can see some changes.  I'm not totally sure, but we'll see.

Sorry to keep the feedback on week two so brief!

Week three begins tomorrow, and I'm very excited to see where it goes.

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Breakthrough day!

Remember how I wondered whether it was OK to go to barre for a third day in a row?  Well today was day five, and apparently it was!

Woke up to snow (which I love - it means SKIING!), got to wear my new knee high grippy socks (seriously never taking them off), and I'm growing out short hair and I was able to pull my hair into a pony tail with the assistance of a headband (MAJOR BREAKTHROUGH!).  Despite those three joyous realities, I was staring down a Saturday morning class which meant a more crowded class and more *intense* barre people who have crazy good bodies and know all the moves because they've been doing it forever and frankly are barre goddesses, which frankly had me a little nervous.

First breakthrough - I didn't introduce myself as new.  I hadn't had either instructor before, and I was running a little late so there wasn't really time to introduce myself, but I'm starting to understand the class structure and I think I have an OK grasp on what's going on.  I've also noticed that the instructors adjust EVERYONE, so now that not everything feels new, I felt like maybe I could just sneak in and see what happened.

Second breakthrough - I made it through the first plank of the class - I haven't made it through that one yet.  I used to be much better at plank, but failure to do it for a while kind of impacted that negatively.  But, I made it through!  And it wasn't even so terrible :)

Third breakthrough - I embraced the shake!  I wasn't able to get through *all* the sets of exercises without taking a moment to reset, but I made it through more than I did the day before, a few sets without taking *any* break.  AND, I even was able to take a few "challenges" (i.e. option to take the L-position) for the first time.

I left class today feeling totally different.  I got adjusted about 1,000 times, but like I've said before, I have *no* problem embracing that.  I left class feeling confident, feeling like my body was strong and like my mind was stronger.  My goal in doing this for 30 days was to make a commitment and stick to it, and to focus on something.  I'm definitely sticking to my goals.  Having said that, I couldn't be happier that tomorrow is a rest day :-p

Friday, December 16, 2016

Day Four...

So this week I thought I worked out "the perfect crime."  I discovered that during the week there is a 10:45 AM class at The Bar Method studio that I attend regularly.  So, why does this matter?  Well, 10:45 isn't usually a crowded class at any exercise studio - and this was no different.  That meant extra attention from the instructor which I crave - I want to learn to do this right and not pick up any bad habits.

So when I went to sign up for my Friday class I discovered - no 10:45 AM class!  I wasn't terribly happy about this realization, so I signed up for the 9:30, which can be a busy class out in the 'burbs.  This was no different, but once again, I dutifully informed the instructor that I was new and I lovvvve feedback.

Then I did my favorite thing (which I need to stop doing) and bought some new socks in the lobby of the study.  I loved that they said "Shake it shake it" because that's something I need to learn how to embrace, but am having a lot of trouble doing.

I toughed through class - embraced the shake to the best of my ability and set the goal of not taking breaks during sets that are "just too hard to get through."

I'm seeing definite improvement over the beginning of the week - but I think that's mostly familiarity with the class and the moves - which frankly feels very good.

Rewarded myself after class with a trip to Lululemon to buy a pair of over the knee grip socks (come on - how am I supposed to go to class in the snow during the winter in New England without the correct socks?)

About 12 hours after class ended I was laying in bed kind of sore wondering whether I was completely crazy to be registered for class again at 9:30 Saturday morning?  Was three days in a row of barre just too much? Well, since I was past the time for late cancel (see a trend here - although I'll be honest I also use it to force myself to go to workouts) I was going to have to find out.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Third Day of Barre This Week

So....

Here's the story... I accidentally signed up for two classes tonight at FlyWheel... sort of.  I signed up for a FlyWheel indoor cycle class and I also signed up for a FlyBarre class.  My goal was to cancel one - but I didn't cancel before the "late cancel" time - and ended up doing an indoor cycle class followed immediately by their own special approach to barre.

To start - this was my first indoor cycle class since catching the worlds longest lasting cold about 5 weeks ago.  I thought I was going to die, but I still ended up doing OK, so I guess that means I need to work harder than I have been lately.

Immediately following I headed into the FlyBarre studio (OK, I used the ladies room, changed my shirt, and then filled up my water bottle first).  FlyBarre is a lot different than my Bar Method class.  It definitely has rhyme and reason, but I can't quite make heads or tails of it.  Here's what I do know (a) it was hard and I had to take way too many breaks, (b) the music is WAY better than at Bar Method, and (c) I actually had a lot of fun even though I spent every minute of the class wondering how much longer I had to go.

Here's what I learned: barre and spin totally go together - but I'd rather do it in the opposite order (barre first, then spin).  Also, barre is totally changing my posture.  It's been less than a week, but it's making a difference.

Looking forward to doing my Bar Method class tomorrow, even though it's going to be stupid cold and my leg warmers haven't arrived yet (yes, I'm turning into one of *those* people).  I'm also really curious what four weeks of this challenge is going to do because one week has made some notable difference - not specifically weight loss or lost inches, but a definite improvement in posture which is HUGE!

Also - random aside - does this class count toward my 20/30 challenge? Or do I have to do all 20 classes at Bar Method?

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Is it possible?

it was only day two and I may have experienced some physical improvement already. A few hours after class I was walking from work to pick up some lunch and I noticed my posture and stride felt a little different. I felt taller and a little more purposeful, I felt good.

I'm not sure if it was all in my head or if some benefits of class are starting to creep in, but I like it.

Today's class has a different instructor. She was amazing and offered tons of helpful feedback -
I'm definitely looking for her again in the future! Also - another newbie in the class and I bonded which I totally didn't expect.

It's currently "day 3" and because of some work and other commitments I had to take a rest day. Tomorrow might be a rest day too if things get crazy. I don't like when this happens. I still have 18 classes left to go and only 27 days to do them, gotta keep my eyes on the prize!